Diary

J’adore Peeta Mellark

I originally wrote this post 2 years ago in my other blog. But since finally Hunger Games the series reach final at the cinema, I would share this in here.

I haven’t read the book series yet, but if I was Katniss, I would choose Peeta. It’s more like… he’s my type of guy. Lol~

Gale is indeed tough, strong, has more attractive appearance. He’s tall and handsome. While Peeta is ‘weak’, short, not too handsome.

But Peeta is humble, warm-hearted, kind, caring, and selfless. Definitely a type of guy I usually fall with. Lol~

Katniss is indeed strong, smart, and will do whatever it takes to survive. But, deep inside, she’s also a woman.

People sometimes forget, behind her strong appearance, she’s trembled inside, scared, and lonely.

And that is the side that Peeta protects. That vulnerable side of Katniss. He can’t fight and basically depends on Katniss’ protection.

At least that is what people see. What people don’t see is, how Katniss always looks for him to ‘protect’ her from her own fear.

Katniss is strong and brave because she knows Peeta would always be there. She doesn’t love him in lust. She ‘needs’ him.

Because of my curiousity of how it ends, I finally read the e-book that my brother gave to me last holiday. I read only the last one, Mockingjay. And, here are some of the quotes about Katniss and Peeta in that book:

In the fluorescent light, the circles under his eyes look like bruises. “There’s still time. You should sleep.” Unresisting, he lies back down, but just stares at the needle on one of the dials as it twitches from side to side. Slowly, as I would with a wounded animal, my hand stretches out and brushes a wave of hair from his forehead. He freezes at my touch, but doesn’t recoil. So I continue to gently smooth back his hair. It’s the first time I have voluntarily touched him since the last arena.

“You’re still trying to protect me. Real or not real,” he whispers.

“Real,” I answer. It seems to require more explanation. “Because that’s what you and I do. Protect each other.”

 

That what I need to survive is not Gale’s fire, kindled with rage and hatred. I have plenty of fire myself. What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that.

“You love me, real or not real?”
“Real”


peeta-mellark
Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark

3 thoughts on “J’adore Peeta Mellark

  1. Saya cuma menonton sekali dan itu cuma film pertama, tapi memang kayaknya mereka berdua (Katniss dan Peeta) dicptakan buat saling mengisi yah Mbak :hehe. Kalau dalam pasangan dua-duanya dominan dan kuat, kok saya agak sangsi kalau pasangan itu bisa lama bertahannya, soalnya nanti pasti suka ribut :haha.

Tinggalkan Balasan

